Man’s Heart Stops For 45 Minutes But Restarts; Didn’t Suffer Any Brain Damage!


Daughter Christina welcomes her father, Joseph Tiralosi, 56, back home after 2 weeks in the hospital.

Daughter Christina welcomes her father back home after 2 weeks in the hospital.

From the New York Daily News

There’s no place like home.

Miracle dad Joseph Tiralosi broke down in tears as he described what it felt like to be home with his family Wednesday – two weeks after he was raised from the dead.

“There’s nothing like it, nothing better,” Tiralosi, 56, said, his eyes welling with tears.

The Brooklyn chauffeur, who miraculously survived after his heart stopped beating for 45 minutes, then locked eyes with his daughter, Christina, 19.

“They are my life,” he said of his family.

Tiralosi expressed his joy the day after spending his first night home since his extraordinary ordeal.

The married father of two went into sudden cardiac arrest Aug. 17 inside the emergency room at New York-Presbyterian Hospital Weill Cornell.

A team of doctors worked feverishly to revive Tiralosi as precious minutes ticked by.

It wasn’t until 45 minutes had passed that doctors finally succeeded in getting his heart beating again.

Perhaps even more incredible, Tiralosi survived the episode without suffering brain damage.

“It’s been a life-changing experience,” Tiralosi said inside his Gravesend home.

“I appreciate a lot more now because I realize how close I was to losing it all.”

Tiralosi, after a restful night of sleep, chowed down on a breakfast of oatmeal with blueberries.

"I think I'm having a heart attack!"

"I think I'm having a heart attack!"

Much of his afternoon was spent taking phone calls from family and friends. He also made sure to get some exercise, gingerly walking around his tidy rowhouse.

At lunchtime, Tiralosi experienced one of the real joys of being home: He feasted on homemade chicken cacciatore.

“I feel stronger than yesterday,” Tiralosi, wearing navy pajamas and black slippers, said.

“Every day a little stronger – baby steps, you know what I mean. That’s how it’s going to be.”

Tiralosi will begin physical rehabilitation soon. In the meantime, family members said, they’re savoring the return of their courageous patriarch.

“I’m just so happy to have him back,” Tiralosi’s wife, Janet, said. “I can’t tell you how I feel.”

Joseph Tiralosi, for his part, said he’s still coming to grips with his stunning recovery.

“I’ve come a long way,” Tiralosi said. “I’ve been to hell to heaven and back. It’s great that I’m finally back home.”

All of us are at risk for chest pain...

Take it from me--chest pain can strike any of us...

5 responses to “Man’s Heart Stops For 45 Minutes But Restarts; Didn’t Suffer Any Brain Damage!

  1. Those boobs are SO fake.

  2. that is crazy those re big boobs you should have surgery

  3. nice boobs and i thought i had chest pains!

  4. I suddenly have a craving for milk.

  5. wow i dont see before this

Leave a Reply

